Damon & Naomi - Wondrous World "Bootleg" LP


Damon & Naomi - Wondrous World "Bootleg" LP


Released on Record Store Day 2013

This "bootleg edition" of Damon & Naomi's second album was rediscovered amid tapes salvaged from the studio of Galaxie 500 producer Kramer. It is Damon & Naomi's debut for Sub Pop as Kramer originally conceived it - different mixes, sequence, and with an otherwise unreleased track

Add To Cart

Stream or Buy Download

1. In the Morning
2. Pyewacket
3. Life Will Pass You By / Who Am I
4. New York City
5. Pandora's Box
6. How Long
7. The New Historicism
8. Tour of the World
9. Forgot to Get High
10. Whispering Pines
11. Round and Round (previously unreleased)

Naomi Yang - Bass, vocals
Damon Krukowski - Guitar, drums, vocals

Electric guitar, mellotron, emulator, clarinet, tpaes, bass and backing vocals by Kramer

Produced, arranged and engineered by Kramer
at Noise New Jersey, Summer 1995
Mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music, 2013

Released by 20/20/20 for Record Store Day, April 20 2013

In 1995, Damon &amp; Naomi went into the studio with Galaxie 500 producer Kramer to record their debut for Sub Pop. Not everything went according to plan, however; or rather, it turned out Kramer and Damon &amp; Naomi each had a different plan for what should result. Damon &amp; Naomi put down tracks for what they thought would be their first "acoustic" album, the beginnings of the folky sound they would develop in years to come. But Kramer, in the engineer and producer's seat, finished it according to his own idea -- closer in spirit to the psychedelic record the duo and he had previously recorded together,<a href="http://damonandnaomi.com/shop/dn-more-sad-hits-lp/"><i> More Sad Hits</i></a>. When Damon &amp; Naomi asked for changes, the mercurial Kramer -- Phil Spector of indie rock -- flew into one of his famous rages, insisting the album was already as it should be. In the end, he made the changes, but only under protest. And when band and label asked to hear the original version again to compare, Kramer said too late: he'd erased the tape.

Flash forward a number -- ok, a lot -- of years. Old arguments are forgotten or forgiven, and fortunately no one has been murdered (this is still indie rock, after all). Damon &amp; Naomi receive a message out of the blue from Kramer: a friend of his has found a bunch of master tapes from the old studio, some might be yours, here's the address. Damon climbs the stairs of a Tribeca walk-up, where a dusty plastic bag sealed with duct tape is waiting for him. Inside... Kramer's original master of <i>Wondrous World</i>. Not erased after all!

So here it is. Different mixes, different sequence, and one otherwise unreleased song. Limited edition vinyl pressing, with official bootleg art.

“After my last shows in the 70's, I became a Music Celibate for almost 20 years. In 1996 my son Dave gave me this CD. I thought it was the most beautiful thing in the world, with songs I really needed to learn how to play. Damon &amp; Naomi found ten ways of talking about sadness without being sad - a wondrous and necessary achievement.” --Tom Rapp (Pearls Before Swine)